The time it was about Little Monsters

Posted August 18, 2017 by Stacee in Blog Tours and Hops, Giveaways, Interviews / 5 Comments

When I got the invite for the blog tour for Little Monsters by Kara Thomas, I hadn’t read the book yet.  And then when I devoured it, I went back to the sign up form and basically typed like a lunatic to make sure I got my submission in before it closed. Honestly, I couldn’t remember if I had previously signed up, but after being pretty much obsessed with the book, I didn’t want to miss out on having Kara on the blog.

Before we get to the interview, let’s check out the book!

Title: Little Monsters
Author: Kara Thomas
Pub. Date: July 25, 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
Find it: PRH | Indiebound | B&N | Amazon | Goodreads

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Sounds good, right?

1. Please give the elevator pitch for Little Monsters.

When her best friend goes missing after a party, the new girl in town starts to learn that Broken Falls, Wisconsin, isn’t as welcoming as she thought.

2. What sparked the idea?

I had read about a real life case where a sixteen-year-old girl climbed out her bedroom window one night and never came home, and her best friends were the key to unlocking the mystery. It got me thinking about the intensity of female friendships—and female enmities.

3. Why do you love Kacey and why should we root for her?

I love Kacey because she has a hard time being vulnerable with people. I can relate to that. I think people will want to root for her because a lot of people can empathize with being the new girl and not being sure of what other peoples’ intentions are.

4. What was the weirdest thing you googled while researching?

For this book, it was the freezing temperature of blood.

5. Without spoilers, what was your favorite scene to write?

Bailey’s second to last journal entry. She’s in a very dark place, and I loved getting into her twisted mind.

Speed {ish} round:

1. You find out that you’re being published for the first time. Describe the next 5 minutes.

When this actually happened, I called my parents, finished lunch, and went back to teaching an 11th grade English class.

2. What three things would you take to a desert island?

My cat, Felix, an e-reader stocked with books, and a solar charger so it never runs out of battery.

3. You can only read one book for the rest of your life. What is it?

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

4. What book character would you want to date and who would you want to be your BFF?

I would want Hermione Granger to be my BFF, and I would want to date Peeta Mellark.

5. What is the one thing about publishing you wish someone would have told you?

It’s a marathon, not a race. Getting an agent and a book deal is only the beginning of the journey. There are so many things that come after.

6. You wake up and discover you are Bella in Twilight. You know how it plays out. What do you do differently? {Huge thanks to Bookish Broads for letting me use this question}

I would pick the right guy in the end ;)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kara is the author of the critically acclaimed THE DARKEST CORNERS. Her new book, LITTLE MONSTERS, is coming July 25th from Random House/Delacorte. She’s written for everything from her high school newspaper to Warner Brothers Television. You can find her on Long Island, bingeing on true crime podcasts and TV shows.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Huge thanks to Rockstar Book Tours for the invite and to Kara for taking the time.  Make sure you’re checking out the rest of the blog tour for extra goodies and keep scrolling for a giveaway!!

**Good Luck!!**

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags: , , , , ,


5 Responses to “The time it was about Little Monsters”

  1. Melissa

    This book sounds so good!! Im looking forward to reading it! It’s not what I usually read but sometimes it’s nice to go outside the norm and I think I’m gonna like this story!

  2. Ooh, I have been looking forward to reading this one! I love mysteries and twisted minds, and I also love stories about friendship, whether of the good or bad variety. There is obviously a lot of depth to plumb when writing about teenage girl friendships! Can’t wait to read it :-)

Leave a Reply